A Break for the Barista

Like most people I do not find Mondays very appealing. Today was harder than most Mondays though. My best friend from Orlando came up to visit me this past weekend and after a weekend of dancing, shopping, and of course drinking…COFFEE it was hard to get into the swing of things. Aside from the departure of my friend and arrival of another busy week my boss asked me to work at another Starbucks, one of the busiest Starbucks in the area in fact. I was both nervous and excited when he asked me to this favor for him. I have heard some scary things about this Starbucks and am always up for challenge. I was supposed to work from 7:30-9 which wouldn’t be too bad so I figured I could handle this new atmosphere.

Last night I went to bed just like any other night, but was awoken at 7:45 this morning by a phone call. When I answered the unknown caller on the other end asked me where I was. You see, the Starbucks I work at opens at 8 in the morning so when my boss told me what times I was working I assumed it was at night. Well, we all know what happens when one assumes something and I ended up being wrong in this situation. I told the manager I was very sorry and could be there as soon as possible but by this point he told me not to even worry about coming in.

I felt so bad. Not only did I let the people at the “new” Starbucks down, I also misrepresented my home Starbucks. As soon as my home store opened I rushed in to explain what happened to my manager. He told me it was alright, that he hadn’t specified that I needed to be there in the morning and that it was his fault! I felt a huge sigh of relief come over me. Not only was I not in trouble with my boss, but since I do not have school on Mondays I got the whole day to catch up on homework and housework I had let slip from my amazing weekend!

As soon as I got home I made myself a fresh pot of coffee and used the new mug my friend had brought as a belated Christmas gift for me. Unlike most Mondays, I got a break from the real world and got to concentrate on what I needed to get done to stay ahead this week…including buying “Don’t Make Me Think” (more about this in the upcoming posts). =)

Leave a Reply

